![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library
Databases:
See Gambling Resorts and Casinos, Gaming Activities, Electric Utilities, and Lumber, Wood
Production & Timber Operations.
See over 12,000 reports on the Gaming industry, over 60,000 reports on the Energy industry, and over 14,000 reports on the Paper & Forest Products industry.
A custom search for businesses and organizations in Stevens County produced a list of over 1,500 records; for Ferry County, over 360 records.
See Washington counties on page 82.
See Washington state, its counties, and its 21 major cities throughout this volume.
See Washington state on pages 348-A to 354-C.
See index pages 951 to 952 for Amusement, Gambling, and Recreation Industry; index page 970, for Forest Products; and index page 966 for Electric Light and Power Services.
See the industry information for Lumber and Wood Products in volume one, on pages 278 to 283; for Gambling in volume two, pages 1310 to 1323; for Electric Services in volume two, pages 503 to 509.
See the industry surveys for Electric Utilities and for Lodging & Gaming in volume two; see Paper and Forest Products in volume three;
See the Casino Gambling industry on pages 194 to 213; see Electric Power on pages 214 to 240.
See pages 26 to 29 for Ferry County and pages 72 to 73 for Stevens County.
See Forestry on pages 36 to 45; Gaming and Gambling Establishments on pages 279 to 286; and Energy on pages 1124 to 1140.
See Lumber and Wood Products in volume one, pages 209 to 213; see Gambling in volume two, pages 902 to 903, and Energy in volume two, page 662.
See Gaming on pages six to seven, Domestic & Commercial Electricity on pages 472 to 475, and Hardwood Veneer and Plywood on pages 1003 to 1004.
See Hardwood Veneers on pages 330 to 331, Electricity on pages 166 to 167, and Gaming on pages 1412 to 1413.
See Hardwood Veneers on page 33, Electricity on page 106, and Gaming on page 165.
See Electricity on page 18, Hardwood Veneers on page 72, and Gambling on pages 371 to 372.
See the Forest Products on pages 395 to 396, Electric Utilities on pages 329 to 330, and Gambling on pages 401 to 402.
See Electric Power, Western Region, on page 169; Forest Products, starting on page 226; and Gaming, starting on page 234.
See chapter eleven, on Gaming and Wagering, on pages 267 to 299.
Circulation status is indicated on the right of each online catalog record, on the right. Available indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. Due and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated. You can have the Request/Place Hold feature to recall the book for your use.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A subject search for Gambling, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved a list of just six titles, with only one of these books published since 1984:
A subject search for the Forest Products Industry -- United States produced a list of 138 records,
with eight
records from that list in the Foster Business Library.
A subject search in the online catalog for Forests and Forestry, limited to the Foster
Business Library, retrieved a list of
seven records, none of them more recent than 1981. A subject search for Lumber Trade, limited to the Foster
Business Library, retrieved a list of 35
records. Another search, system-wide, for Forest Products Industry -- Northwest, Pacific produced a list of 14 records but none in the Foster Business Library.
Other relevant subjects, and some examples of relevant titles, include:
Foster Business
Library Articles:
In addition to the 800 journals in the Foster Business Library Periodicals
Collection,
the Foster Business Library offers access to over 10,000 full text periodical
articles through its full text article
databases such as Factiva, and Lexis-Nexis
Academic, and ProQuest Databases.
These article databases may be found on the Foster Business Library homepage, listed alphabetically
under Business
Databases.
Of these three main sources, all but
Factiva are available from any computer on the campus
network (as well as from home) via the UW
Connectivity
Kit or via the
Libraries' Off-Campus Access
link (using your UW Net ID and password).
The easiest of these databases to use is ProQuest Databases.
For more information about accessing Foster Business Library databases from off
campus, see Database Access.
For more
information about business databases, see Databases, A to Z.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over
10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry peridicals,
newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search
by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the
Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each
article. For tips on searching this database, see the Foster Business Library research guide About ProQuest.
A search in all databases for SUB(Native Business Enterprises) produced a list of over 400 articles;
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the
library is
open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business
subject. For
e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian
Consultation archives.
U.W. Business
and Economic Development Center
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of business databases on its homepage; see under Business Databases. For more information on the three dozen Foster business databases, click here.
For more information on which of the three dozen Foster business databases to use, click here.
For more information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, click here.
For information about responsible database usage, click here.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, these Web resources are available wherever
you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the UW Connectivity Kit or the UW Libraries Proxy Server for authentication. When using web resources, be sure to
evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection is located behind
the Reference Desk in the center of the library's first floor. This list
is arranged according to call number and, since none of these books
circulate, they should always be available--except when in use by a
library user.
Foster Business Library
Books:
This oversized annual publication provides population, economic, and geographic data for over
129,000 places in the United States as well as information about the largest U.S. corporations
and state, county, and city data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .R35 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001. (in dictionary stand)
This annual reference work provides extensive data on U.S. states, counties, and cities in a
wide variety of categories, including population, households, vital statistics, health, crime,
education, labor force and employment, trade, federal funds, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .C68 2002.
This thick paperback provides up-to-date demographic information, by zip code, for every
residential and non-residential zip code location in the U.S., with population, households,
ethnicity, age, income, spending potential on financial services, home, entertainment,
and personal, dominant lifestyle segmentation, business data including number of
businesses and dominant industry, forecasts, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S66 2002.
Information about many industries as well as demographic information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 2004-2005.
This heavy two-volume set provides essays on over 1,000 industries, with manufacturing industries largely in volume one and service and other non-manufacturing industries in volume two, arranged by Standard Industrial Code, with an index at the back of volume two.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC102 .E53 2005.
This three-volume set provides 30-page profiles on 52 industries
with a focus
on the current economic environment, trends, regulation and outlook for
each industry.
Major companies in each industry are profiled, with references to sources
of additional industry information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.6 .S74 (Quarterly)
This excellent reference work provides essays, mostly by professors of economics, about 14
significant industries: automobiles, beer, broilers, pharmaceuticals, steel, airline service, retail
commercial banking, casino gambling, electric power, health insurance, motion
pictures, nursing homes, microcomputer platforms, and telecommunications.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .I53 2002.
Two-page profiles of the state as a whole and of each county, with information on
population, population change, personal income, taxable retail sales, registered business,
new businesses, property assessments, employment by industry sector and unemployment.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC107 .W2 .E25 2003-2004.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development
information, current conditions, industry leaders and further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
Annual two-volume compilation of U.S. and world market share data for companies, products and
services, arranged by SIC code, and with indexes by product, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 2005.
This large volume provides an overview and projections for 400 significant industries and
their component products or services, arranged alphabetically by industry name. For each
product or service, there is a brief indication of the value of the U.S. market in 1998 and
the compound U.S. market growth rate from 1993 to 1998 as well as a graph depicting market
value in dollars and the growth rate. There is also a brief analysis of the market sectors
for the product or service and a description of the market segmentation by volume for 1997,
plus U.S. market share and market forecast information.
Foster Business Library
Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.1 .U8 2001.
Norms and ratios for many industries and sizes of business, itemized by asset size, and
categorized by four digit SIC code.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .B2 .R6 2004-2005.
Key business ratios for 800 S.I.C industry categories, a publication of
Dun & Bradstreet.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681 .R25 .I525 2003-2004.
This annual publication, edited by Leo Troy, offers a different take on
ratios than the title above.
The arrangement of industries is by NAICS code.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5681. R25. .T68 2004.
This annual volume provides 5,000 rankings of companies, products, services and business activities, with data culled from thousands of sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4050 .B88 2004.
Statistical data on 3,000 companies in 137 industries, with ranking, key
financial information, operating data and ratios.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4961 .M68 (Quarterly)
This single volume covers the financial aspects of major entertainment enterprises including movies, television,
cable, music, casinos, theme parks, and toys in considerable detail, written by a former entertainment industry
analyst at Merrill Lynch.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN1590 .F55 .V6 2002.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To identify relevant books, go to the UW Libraries Catalog on the Foster Business Library homepage (under Business Databases). Try searching by keyword; use the Modify Search feature to restrict your list of books to the
Foster Business Library and in order from newest book to oldest. To do so, use the pulldown menu under Location to specify Foster Business Library. Clicking on the titles in the resulting list will bring up the full catalog record, indicating which Foster area has the book (general stacks, reference, reserve, etc.), the call number and the circulation status.
for
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Economic Development), nineteen articles, including:
More searches:
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Business Growth), two articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Casinos), over twenty articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Electric Power), just one article;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Electric Utilities), also just one article;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Finance), over twenty articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Forest Products Industry), just four articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Gambling), over 25 articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Hospitality Industry), just two articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Hotel Industry), just one article;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Management), four articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Marketing), just two articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Startups), six articles;
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Tourism), seventeen articles; and
SUB(Native Business Enterprises) and SUB(Travel Industry), six articles.