Foster Business Library


Retirement Planning Resources



Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases  >>>  Web Resources  >>>  Reference Books  >>>  Books  >>>  Articles  >>>  Help

Foster Business Library Databases:

The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.

  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. Full text for the following S&P publications:   Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

    Go to the menu bar and click on the Learning Center tab. Go to their Retirement Tutorial.

    Web Resources:

    Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.

    Government Agencies:

  • U.S. Administration on Aging--Retirement and Financial Planning Resources Online:   The U.S. Administration on Aging "is concerned with informing the public about how they can better prepare for a more financially secure retirement. Therefore, we have identified the online resources listed below which include booklets and brochures about retirement planning from government and other sources, calculators of future financial needs and asset values, and more general information about personal financial planning." The major focus of this site is financial planning for retirement.

  • U.S. Federal Reserve--Consumer Information:   "The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system." Its website offers this Consumer Information section about many aspects of personal finance, including their Personal Financial Education section. See also, in this vein, the Building Wealth: a Beginner's Guide from the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

    Associations:

  • Retirement Income (American Association of Retired Persons):   The site has a section on their site for financial planning, aimed at Americans over the age of fifty, on retirement income, with an archive of articles on this subject.

  • Retirement (American Savings Education Council):   Part of the Employee Benefits Research Institute, this organization's mission is to "make saving and retirement planning a priority for all Americans." It accomplishes this mission by "educating the public about all aspects of financial security through our coalition of major public- and private-sector partners." See their extensive collection of related Calculators (including ones for retirement) and Resources (including Retirement).

  • Retirement Security (Investment Company Institute):   The Investment Company Institute "is the national association of the American investment company industry. Founded in 1940, its membership includes approximately 8,912 mutual funds, 554 closed-end funds, 106 exchange-traded funds, and six sponsors of unit investment trusts. Its mutual fund members represent more than 90 million individual shareholders and manage approximately $6.3 trillion in investor assets." Its Retirement Security section offers information about U.S. legislative and regulatory action in the area of retirement security, retirement market statistics, and relevant research and policy papers.

  • Retirement (National Endowment for Financial Education):   Part of the endowment's Financial Literacy Resource Center, this site offers information on courses and workshops, planning tools, multimedia, and a long list of printed materials.

  • Retirement and Estate Planning for University Faculty (TIAA-CREF):   This TIAA-CREF site offers advice, recommended reading, interactive calculators, and other resources for university faculty who are planning their retirements. See also their primer on Retirement Plans and their Calculators and Planning Tools.

    Universities & Colleges:

  • Boston College Center for Retirement Research:   This center promotes and conducts research on the issue of retirement, with its Publications readily available online. See also their Data and Links.

  • University of Michigan Retirement Research Center:   "This center serves as a national resource fostering high-quality research, communication, and education related to Social Security, pension and retirement related policies. The MRRC is one of three Centers funded by the Social Security Administration" to conduct research, disseminate information, and train scholars. See their retirement Publications and Resources.

  • University of North Carolina--Retirement Resources:   This short research guide from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Davis Library, provides links on how to get to retirement, ways to beat the clock, a guide to do-it-your-selfers, and several other resources.

  • University of Washington Retirement Plan:   This University of Washington, Human Resources, site targets faculty, librarians, and professional staff retirement benefits but provides links to the retirement programs of other university personnel. There is also information on Washington State Retiree Re-employment.

    Commercial Sites:

  • Encyclopedia of Finance (Ameritrade):   This Ameritrade site, part of their Education Center, provides a good basic encyclopedia of finance, covering stocks, security analysis and research, debt securities, mutual funds, investment strategies, and retirement planning, as well as a Glossary of finance terms. See their Retirement Planning.

  • Retirement Resource Center (Fidelity Investments):   Like many mutual fund companies, Fidelity Investments offers an overview of retirement, information on how long retirement money might last, eight things to do before retirement, and resources for retirement planning, with some of these resources limited to Fidelity clients.

  • Life Event Planning Educators (FinanCenter):   FinanCenter claims it is "the #1 provider of web tools that engage and educate customers in order to sell financial services." This part of their site provides information and tools for evaluating retirement-related options.

  • MetLife Mature Market Institute (MetLife):   "The MetLife Mature Market Institute is the company’s information and policy resource center on issues related to aging, retirement, long-term care and the 50+ marketplace. Staffed by gerontologists, the Institute provides research, training and education, consultation and information to support MetLife, its corporate customers and business partners." See their Studies, Consumer Publications, Articles, and QuickFacts.

  • Retirement Planning Overview (Prudential Financial):   From Prudential Financial comes this site with information about retirement plans, managing retirement rollovers, understanding IRAs, the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Act, and simplified IRA distribution rules.

  • Retirement Planning (T. Rowe Price):   This T. Rowe Price site offers insights, guides, tools, worksheets, and a Calculator for retirement planning.

    Media Sites:

  • ABC News Moneyscope: Planning Your Retirement:   This site offers about two dozen articles from a variety of sources on this topic. See also their list of related Financial Makeovers at the bottom of this website.

  • CNN Money--Retirement:   This site provides a link to its own articles on this topic. See also their Ask the Expert section.

  • The Economist Magazine--Pensions and Aging:   The Economist magazine, published in London, provides links to its own articles on this topic, more from an international subject point of view than for personal finance interests.

  • Kiplingers--Retirement:   The venerable personal finance magazine, Kiplinger's, provides this section on retirement, with information on the fundamentals of financing this phase of life.

  • Los Angeles Times Money Library:   This Los Angeles Times section covers personal finance, with stories largely by Times' writers. See the Retirement part of this special segment, with Retirement 101, Planning for Retirement, Entering and Living in Retirement, and IRAs and 401(k)s.

  • Seattle Times--Retiring Well:   This Seattle Times 2005 special report provides information about financial makeovers, where to retire, spending a nest egg, leaving a legacy, calculators, a glossary, more resources, and a link to their 2004 special on retirement.

  • Smart Money--Personal Finance--Retirement:   Smart Money magazine's website of personal finance includes this section on retirement, with retirement worksheets and features on many aspects of retirement planning. The price to be paid for this information is in the form of annoying popup ads.

  • U.S. News & World Report--Money & Business--Retirement:   This U.S. News & World Report online section provides links to many articles on retirement, on its financial aspects as well as health, where to retire, and tools for retirement planning. Like many popular magazine sites, this site bombards visitors with popup ads.

  • The Washington Post--Retirement:   This Washington Post section, part of its business coverage, is a collection of articles on this topic by Post writers, plus examples from real-life retirees, along with some audio features.

    Other Sites:

  • Retirement Planning:   Ric Edelman is the author of five books on financial planning and his website offers essays on retirement from his books and writings.

  • Retirement Planning--How to Retire in Style:   The Motley Fool personal finance experts provide a wealth of information about personal finance on their website, including information about how to retire comfortably, thanks to proper planning.

  • Wikipedia:   This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. See their entry for Retirement.

    Foster Business Library Reference Collection:

    The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.

  • Business: the ultimate resource.
    This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200 contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources. See Preparing for Retirement with Dignity and Grace on pages 820 to 821.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.

  • Beyond 401(K)s for small business owners.
    This paperback is subtitled "a practical guide to incentive, deferred compensation, and retirement plans."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD7105.4 .S54 2004.

  • The complete idiot's guide to Social Security and Medicare.
    This paperback describes itself as "up-to-date coverage on all benefits and the new prescripton drug programs."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD7125 .C646 2006.

  • Standard & Poor's guide to personal finance.
    This paperback covers all aspects of personal finance and financial planning. See chapter seven, entitled Retirement Realities, on pages 83 to 108.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .D697 2005.

  • The Wall Street Journal guide to planning your financial future: the easy-to-read guide to planning for retirement.
    This 160-page paperback is focused on planning for retirement, covering issues such as where to live, employer plans, individual plans, social security, investing, estate planning, and health care.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .M658 2002.

  • The handbook of financial planning: an expert's guide for advisors and their clients.
    This guide includes all major topics in the area of personal finance, with text discussions and many examples, as well as charts, illustrations, exhibits and checklists. See Retirement Planning on pages 293 to 312.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .S55 2004.

  • Facts about retiring in the United States.
    This volume is aimed at individual retirees and written by the president of the International Society for Retirement Planning. It covers retirement considerations in the areas of housing, health care, income and finances, and legal concerns; a state-by-state guide to retirement housing options; and retirement organizations and resources as well as retirement planning tools and forms.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HQ1063.2 .U6 .F33 2001.

  • CCH retirement planning guide.
    This paperback guide, aimed at financial planners, covers stages in retirement planning, the role of the planner, building retirement income, meeting retirement goals through investments, working after retirement, social security benefits, income tax planning, life insurance and retirement annuities, early retirement, special considerations for business owners, strategies for retirement living, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HQ1063.2 .U6 .K477 2000.

  • Tax planning strategies.
    This slim annual publication, from CCH, formerly known as Year-End Tax Strategies, provides guidance in income tax planning, based on the most recent changes in tax law. See Retirement Planning and Early Retirement and Post-retirement Strategies on pages 57 through 76.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF6297 .Z9 .Y435 2002/2003.

    Foster Business Library Books:

    The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.

    To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.

    If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.

    The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).

    A subject search for Retirement produced a list of over 1,600 records in the UW Libraries, with over eighty records in the Foster Business Library including:

    A broader subject search, for Finance, Personal, retrieved over six hundred records in the UW Libraries, with over one hundred records in the Foster Business Library, including:

    Foster Business Library Articles:

    Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.

    Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.

    ProQuest Databases:

    This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.

    Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.

    As an example, a keyword search in this database for Retirement Planning produced more than 17,000 articles. A more focused search in this database for SUB(Retirement Planning) produced over 14,000 articles. This subject can be narrowed by combining it with other subject terms such as (among many other combinations):

    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Personal Finance)   (Over 2,300 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Investments)   (Over 980 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Financial Planning)   (Over 800 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Baby Boomers)   (Over 600 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Guidelines)   (Over 320 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Women)   (Over 240 articles)
    • SUB(Retirement Planning) and SUB(Trends)   (Over 230 articles)

    Examples of articles where a person or couple's finances are reviewed by an expert appear often in various publications. A search for "Money Makeover" produced over 850 articles. A search for "Money Makeover" and Retirement produced over 230 articles.

    Some examples of articles from searches above:

    Help:
    29 September 2006; updated 21 February 2008.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu