![]() |
|
|
![]() |
This guide is designed to be a starting point for doing research on old stock certificates. It
includes print resources available in the Foster Business Library, as well as database and web resources, for researching companies and for finding historical stock prices.
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Company Information:
This database is a good source for information on companies. Go to Topic Guide to find the form of company name used in this database. If your company is not listed in this database, try a basic search on the name of the company, in quotes.
This database, unlike some sources of company information, includes both active and inactive companies.
Historical Stock Prices:
Type the stock's ticker symbol, then hit the yellow EQUITY key; then GO. Choose Historical Prices and change the date range to suit your needs.
Web resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Stock Certificates:
Historical Stock Prices:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Company Information:
In the Foster Business Library Reference Serials collection, located on the south side of the wall behind the reference collection:
The Foster Business Library collections do not include one of the main reference works for this topic, available at many public libraries in the area:
Historical Stock Prices:
In the case of companies that have changed ticker symbols, merged, been
acquired or gone out of business, finding daily stock price closings is
more complicated; print sources must be consulted since this information
typically disappears from web sources. The sources below include daily
volume, high, low and closing prices.
Try:
Daily stock price record.
For earlier daily stock prices, see:
ISL daily stock price index.
Daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
ISL daily stock price index, over-the-counter.
For older stock prices, the only source is often in the microfilm backfiles of the Wall Street Journal, located in the UW Libraries' Microform & Newspaper Collections.
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
26 Broadway, Suite 973
New York, NY 10004-1703
Phone (212) 943-1880
Toll Free: (800) 622-1880
Fax: (212) 908-4670
4761 West Waterbuck Drive
Tucson, Arizona 85742 USA
Phone (520) 579-5635
Toll Free: (800) 537-4523
Fax (520) 579-5639
E-mail: ssi@stocksearchintl.com
This older ring binder provides information on corporate acquisitions from 1881 to 1997.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call Number: HD2746.55 .U5 .C67 1997.
2,700 U.S. companies that merged, were acquired, went bankrupt or became private companies from 1996 to 2000.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2746.55 .U5 .M466 2001.
1,500 U.S. companies that merged, were acquired, went bankrupt or became private companies since 2001.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HD2746.55 .U5 .M466 2002.
This large older volume covers banks and companies whose original identities were lost due to name changes, mergers, acquisition, dissolution, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call Number: HG4961 .D56 1994.
This large black multi-volume ring binder, published by CCH, "provides the facts and figures to compute a security holder’s gain or loss from capital changes." It covers "over 58,000 corporations in a database that spans over 100 years."
Foster Business Library Reference, Call Number: KF1428 .A6 .C65 (updated regularly)
This periodicals index is useful for searching for companies mentioned in business periodicals prior to the coverage of full text periodical article databases such as ABI/Inform Global. There is no cumulative index to all volumes.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call Number: Z7164 .C81 .B983 1958/1959-2001.
This set of over a dozen volumes is available locally at the King County Library System and at the Seattle Public Library.
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915 .I23
(Quarterly) for the NYSE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference,Call number: HG4915. I22
(Quarterly) for the ASE, back to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly) for the NASDAQ, back to 1993.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915 .I23
(Quarterly) for the NYSE, from 1961 to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I22
(Quarterly) for the ASE, from 1962 to 1972;
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1972 to 1992.
Foster Business Library Reference Serials, Call number: HG4915. I24
(Quarterly), from 1968 to 1972.