![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Labor Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search in this database for Labor Unions retrieved a list of nearly 5,000 citations.
Searching within the pulldown menu Subject category Labor Unions, Associations, and Federations retrieved records for over 200 organizations.
See the Company Fact Sheet for the AFL-CIO as well as the longer Company Overview. See also the list of other organizations in the Membership Organizations industry, including the Teamsters.
For example, a search in this database for the keyword labor unions produced a list of over 160 tables, 57 of which can be downloaded as Excel spreadsheets.
A search for the term Labor Unions retrieved records for over 770 references. An advanced search for the descriptor Unions retrieved over 160 references.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See volume one in the year 2000 edition, starting on page 1737, for Labor unions, associations, and federations.
See volume one in the year 2000 edition, starting on page 2345, for Labor unions, associations, and federations.
See the chapter on Labor on pages 80 to 95.
See index pages 973 to 974 for many tables on labor force, labor organizations, and labor strikes.
See volume V, index pages XCVI to XCVII, for many references to Labor topics throughout the five volumes in this set.
See chapter five, on the Globalization of Labor in the April 2007 edition, on pages 161 to 192; this publication is also available online.
See index pages 1197 and 1198 in volume two for many references to numerous Labor topics.
For information about organized labor, see part nine for Labor Management Relations, with data on work stoppages, union affiliations, membership, etc.
For instance, see Harry Bridges on pages 126 and 127.
See pages 620 to 626 for Labor Market.
See Labor Unions in volume three, on pages 1249 to 1257.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the general term Labor, limited to the location Foster Business Library, retrieved
about 2,000
records. Click here
to launch this search. A search for the keyword Trade Unions, limited to the Foster Business Library,
retrieved over fifty
records.
Relevant subject terms, with searches limited to the Foster Business Library, include:
Examples of titles in the Foster Business Library collections, from searches above, include:
Foster Business
Library Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library Periodical Collection consists of over 800 magazines, newspapers and journals, arranged alphabetically by title, and located in the northwest corner of the ground floor of the library. Click here for a list of the titles in this collection.
Labor-related titles in this collection include:
The UW Libraries also subscribe to electronic journals, some of them in the area of business and economics. Access to these electronic journals is limited to authenticated UW users. For a list of these journals, click here.
Labor titles in this collection include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For instance, a search for the
phrase Labor Unions, in all databases, retrieved
over 52,000 articles.
A subject search for SUB(Labor), in Topic Guide, retrieved
numerous related subjects, from Labor Contracts (with over 7,000 articles) to Labor Unions
(with over 41,000 articles). For many of these subjects,
there are also related narrowing terms where you can link the main subject term with related
subjects for a more targeted search. For Labor Unions, for instance, there are
216 narrowing terms, from Academic Achievement (26 articles) to Writers Guild
of America (67 articles).
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help find information about any business topic. The telephone number for the reference desk is (206) 543-8012. Questions are also welcome via e-mail to balib@u.washington.edu.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Labor.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.