![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Key in HFND and hit the green GO key to be directed to Bloomberg's Hedge Fund Home Page, with rankings, evaluators, 13F forms, frequently-asked questions, fund of funds, news, webpages, indices, and more.
A search for Hedge Funds in this database produced over 150 references.
See the very brief information for the Hedge Fund Management industry and Company List for this industry.
A keyword search for Hedge Funds produced over twenty reports.
A search for Hedge Funds produced over 3,200 references.
A search in this database for Hedge Funds produced over 130 references.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Hedge Funds in volume three, on pages 1059 to 1061.
See Hedge Funds in volume two, on pages 358 to 359, and in volume three, pages 316 to 318 (on Long-Term Capital Management).
See section one, for Hedge Funds, on pages nine to 173.
See volume three, for their listing of Hedge Fund firms, on pages 5904 to 5908. In this volume, see pages 5545 and 5546 for an index of Washington state investment managers.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Hedge Funds produced over forty records in the UW Libraries, with nineteen records in the Foster Business Library, including:
A subject search for Hedge Funds produced over forty
records in the UW Libraries, with sixteen records in the Foster Business Library.
Foster Business Library Articles:
The Foster Business Library periodicals collection includes:
The Foster Business Library electronic journals collection includes:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
This database includes full text for a number of journals with hedge fund content, including Alternative Investment News, Futures, Institutional Investor, Institutional Investor (International Edition), and The Journal of Alternative Investments.
A search in this database for the phrase
Hedge Fund Industry produced just six articles. A subject search for
SUB(Hedge Funds) produced over 7,000 articles, including over 360 articles in scholarly journals, over 600 magazine articles, over 4,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 2,200 newspaper articles.
This search can be narrowed by combining it with other subjects and words, such as:
A search for Hedge Funds, in Washington State Newsstand, for coverage of this topic in this state's newspapers, produced over two hundred articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information.
This database includes full text articles from the hedge fund periodicals Hedge, from 1999 to present, HedgeWorld Daily, 1999 to present, and MAR/Hedge, 1999 to present. To search in these titles, go to Source in the upper right menu in LexisNexis Academic.
On the
Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
This database includes full text articles from the hedge fund periodicals Derivatives Use, Trading & Regulation, from 2001 to present, with a four-month delay; the Journal of Futures Markets, 1981 to present; and Mortgage Servicing News, 2000 to present.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Finance.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This three-volume encyclopedia covers U.S. financial history from 1492 to 2001, with a combination of "broad stroke history and lively anecdote," written single-handed by a law professor at the University of North Carolina.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG181 .M297 2001.
This handbook covers hedge funds, commodity and managed futures, private equity, credit derivatives, and corporate governance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .A57 2002.
This three-volume publication is an index to over 1,800 investment firms in the U.S. and abroad, that provide investment services to the institutional market, with extensive manager profiles, followed by indexes to the profiles (by metropolitan area, ranked by assets, investment specialties, products offered, investment funds and partnerships, and minority and women-owned firms.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4907 .N44 2004.
ProQuest Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.