Globalization Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>>
Web Resources >>>
Reference Books >>>
Books >>>
Annual Reports >>>
Articles >>>
Help
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
EIU Online:
One of the world's top sources for country intelligence, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
employs
500 analysts who research almost 200 nations. The Foster Business
Library provides access to their Country Profiles, Country Reports,
Country Commerce, and Country Finance in print editions and this
database provides online access to these publications, often in both
HTML and PDF formats.
For instance, a search in Viewswires for the term Globalization OR Globalisation retrieved a list of over 1,200
references.
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for three major business sources: the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), and the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002).
See Global Economy, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
Hoovers Online:
Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage. Hoovers Online offers information
about 14,000 public and private companies worldwide, with links to company homepages and annual reports,
charts, company capsule, competitors, divisions, earnings, financials, Fortune and Forbes rankings,
history, industry information, insider trading, mission statements, news links, press releases, officers,
patents, products, SEC filings, splits, subsidiaries, etc.
Company Overviews, in this database, frequently indicate in what countries a company operates as
well as what
proportion of its sales come from various regions of the world. As an example, see the Company
Overview for Microsoft Corporation
and, in particular, the Products/Operations
section.
Investext:
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF format.
A keyword search for Globalization in this database produced a list of 36
reports.
Lexis-Nexis Academic:
To find company information, go to Business and then to Company Financial where
you can obtain financial and other data for companies. Information is available from twenty
different sources (each of which must be searched separately). SEC filings, particularly
company 10K annual reports, are a particularly rich source of company as well as industry
information.
U.S. public companies SEC 10-K reports often provide extensive information about a company's international operations.
For instance, Microsoft discloses that "As of June 30, 2002, the Company employed approximately 50,500 people on a
full-time basis, 34,600 in the United States and 15,900 internationally" and "The Company leases many sites
internationally totaling approximately 4.1
million square feet, including the Company's European Operations Center and
localization division which leases a 382,000 square-foot campus in Dublin,
Ireland, a 45,000 square-foot disk duplication facility in Humacao, Puerto
Rico and a 36,000 square-foot facility in Singapore for the Company's Asia
Pacific Operations Center. Leased office building space includes the
following locations: Tokyo, Japan 343,000 square feet; Unterschleissheim,
Germany 253,000 square feet; United Kingdom campus 242,000 square feet; Les
Ulis, France 229,000 square feet; and Beijing, China 115,000 square feet."
Mergent Online: On the
Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent
Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000
international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint
ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc. For search
tips, see About
Mergent Online.
Look up companies in this database for extensive lists of subsidiaries around the world, joint ventures, properties owned, etc.
Oxford Scholarship Online: On the
Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
This database combines Oxford University Press's core scholarly books in
four disciplines (Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion and Theology) with powerful research tools into one cross-indexed, fully searchable online database. With over 1,200 classic and newly published books now available online, this database will be updated quarterly with an additional 200 titles added each year.
An advanced search in all four disciplines, in titles, for Globalization or Globalisation produced 24 books and 144 chapters; a keyword search for Globalization produced 36 books and 156 chapters.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Guides:
Globalization:
From the Business References Services division at the Library of Congress comes this online guide to the topic of globalization, including how it is defined, a history of globalization, its elements, trends, and how to find more information on this topic.
Globalization (Undergraduate Research Guide):
Library research guides are often excellent starting points for identifying resources on a topic in an organized
fashion, though some of the sources cited are invariably unavailable locally. This guide is from
the College Library at the University of Wisconsin--Madison.
In particular, see their Internet Sites.
The Globalization Debate:
This site, hosted by a professor at New York University, provides updated news, readings,
links, opinion, academic research, and other
resources on the globalization debate.
The Globalization Website:
This site, started by a professor at Emory University to support on course on globalization,
provides a glossary,
theories, issues, news, people, books and debates on this topic.
See the Debates, Issues, and four Student Project sections.
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia, Wikipedia, can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. See their entry on Globalization.
Governmental:
The Fed in Print:
Fed in Print is an index to Federal Reserve economic research, conducted by the "twelve
regional Federal Reserve Banks
across the U.S. that, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., serve as our nation's central bank."
This site is hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco and permits searches of all Fed publications by
keyword, author, subject, and abstract. It is also possible to do a search for terms throughout the Federal
Reserve Bank of San Francisco site.
A keyword search for Globalization retrieved a list of over fifty documents and papers.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis:
This agency is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, producing economic statistics and analysis, for "a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy."
See their BEA Papers, for several recent papers on Globalization, such as Measuring Globalization: the Experience of the United States of America, dated June 2003 (18 PDF pages).
Multinational Organizations:
The Global Compact:
"In an address to The World Economic Forum on 31 January 1999, United Nation Secretary-General Kofi Annan challenged business leaders to join an international initiative – the Global Compact – that would bring companies together with UN agencies, labour and civil society to support nine principles in the areas of human rights, labour and the environment. The Global Compact’s operational phase was launched at UN Headquarters in New York on 26 July 2000."
"Today, hundreds of companies from all regions of the world, international labour and civil society organizations are engaged in the Global Compact."
See their Transparency and the Fight Against Corruption.
The Global Reporting Initiative:
The Global Reporting Initiative "was established in late 1997 with the mission of
developing globally applicable guidelines for reporting on the economic, environmental, and
social performance, initially for corporations and eventually for any business, governmental,
or non-governmental organisation (NGO). Convened by the Coalition for Environmentally
Responsible Economies (CERES) in partnership with the United Nations Environment Programme
(UNEP), the GRI incorporates the active participation of corporations, NGOs, accountancy
organisations, business associations, and other stakeholders from around the world."
This organization is based in Amsterdam; its website lacks a search engine.
See their 2002 Sustainability Reporting Guidelines. The document
itself is 104 pages long, in Adobe
Acrobat PDF form; click here
to go direct to the document.
The International Monetary Fund:
The International Monetary Fund is "an international organization of 184 member countries.
It was established to promote international
monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels
of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments
adjustment."
See Globalization: A Framework for IMF
Involvement, Global Trade Liberalization and
the Developing Countries and Globalization: Threat
or Opportunity?, among more than a thousand
other documents on Globalization.
The World Bank:
The World Bank is "one of the world's largest sources of development assistance. In
fiscal year 2002, the
institution provided more than US$19.5 billion in loans to its client countries. It works in more than 100 developing
economies with the primary focus of helping the poorest people and the poorest countries." This site offers an
extensive amount of information about developing countries and about Development Topics.
See Globalization in their Topics in
Development section.
The World Trade Organization:
The World Trade Organization is "the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world's trading
nations and ratified in their parliaments." A search on this site for the term Globalization retrieved over 340 documents, speeches, and other references. As an example, see The Backlash
against Globalization? by the head of the WTO.
Institutes and Centers:
The Aspen Institute:
"The mission of the Aspen Institute is to foster enlightened leadership and open-minded dialogue. Through seminars, policy programs, conferences and leadership development initiatives, the Institute and its international partners seek to promote nonpartisan inquiry and an appreciation for timeless values."
The institute includes, among its topics of study, Corporate Values, Economics/Finance, Leadership, and Nonprofit/Philanthropy. See their Ethical Globalization Initiative.
The Brookings Institution:
The Brookings Institution is an "independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, education, and publication focused on public policy issues in the areas of economics, foreign policy, and governance. The goal of
Brookings activities is to improve the performance of American institutions and the quality of public policy by using social science to analyze emerging issues and to offer practical approaches to those issues in language aimed at the
general public." See their list of Research
Topics. See their Globalization webpage.
Center for Economic and Policy Research:
This Washington, D.C.-based Center for Economic and Policy Research was formed in 1999 and "was established to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives. Toward this end, CEPR conducts both professional research and public education." Topics of study include globalization, the WTO, the IMF and World Bank, Intellectual Property and Patents, Social Security, the Stock Markets and U.S. Economy, and Labor Markets and Economic Well-Being. See Globalization: Recent Publications and News.
International Forum on Globalization:
This organization, "representing over 60 organizations in 25 countries," "is an alliance of sixty leading activists, scholars, economists, researchers and writers formed to stimulate new thinking, joint activity, and public education in response to economic globalization." See their Analysis for a summary of their viewpoints on globalization.
Institute for International Economics:
"The Institute for International Economics is a private, nonprofit,
nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international
economic policy. Since 1981 the Institute has provided timely, objective
analysis and concrete solutions to key international economic problems."
Among the research areas of interest to the institute is Globalization,
with policy briefs, working papers, books, as well as speeches and testimony.
The Institute for Policy Studies:
The Institute for Policy Studies, based in Washington, D.C., bills itself as the nation's oldest multi-issue progressive think tank, having been founded in 1963. It lists seventeen projects and issues publications about its research and social advocacy. See their project on the Global Economy.
The McKinsey Global Institute:
The McKinsey Global Institute is a McKinsey & Company think tank that performs original research and produces reports on globalization issues, combining, as they say "the rigor of academia with the real experience of business." Their reports in this area are aimed at improving the competitiveness and performance of companies in the global arena. Reports, on over two dozen topics, can be downloaded only by those who complete a free registration process.
The National Center of Policy Analysis:
The National Center of Policy Analysis is "a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization, established in 1983. The NCPA's goal is to develop and promote private alternatives to government regulation and
control, solving problems by relying on the strength of the competitive, entrepreneurial private sector. Topics include reforms in health care, taxes, Social Security, welfare, criminal justice, education and environmental
regulation." This organization attempts to examine issues from a variety of viewpoints. See, under U.S. Trade Issues, their papers on Globalization.
Public Citizen's Global Trade Watch:
This organization claims that it "promotes democracy by challenging corporate globalization, arguing that the current globalization model is neither a random inevitability nor 'free trade.'" See their
Publications.
YaleGlobal Online:
This online publication from the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization provides numerous articles on many aspects of globalization, with articles, an archive of papers, book reviews, video, etc. See their History of lobalization.
Associations:
CorpWatch:
San Francisco-based CorpWatch claims as its misssion that it "counters corporate-led globalization through education and activism. We work to foster democratic control over corporations by building grassroots globalization--a diverse movement for human rights, labor rights and environmental justice." "For the past five years San Francisco-based CorpWatch has been educating and mobilizing people through the CorpWatch.org website and various campaigns, including the Climate Justice Initiative and the UN and Corporations Project." "In addition to the vast array of resources available on CorpWatch.org, the organization's accomplishments are many. They include playing a role in pressuring Nike to improve conditions at its overseas sweatshops by releasing a confidential independent audit that exposed the conditions at a Vietnamese sweatshop. The release of the audit garnered significant media attention, including a front-page story the New York Times." Their site has a company search engine, news articles, an Issue Library, a company Research
Guide, and a long list of Hot Links.
For instance, see their Hot Links for Globalization.
The Council on Foreign Relations:
The Council on Foreign Relations is "a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization devoted to promoting improved understanding of international affairs through the free exchange of ideas. The Council takes no institutional position on policy issues and has no affiliation with the U.S. government." Their website offers articles and other resources on over a dozen foreign policy topics. See Globalization.
The International Chamber of Commerce: The International Chamber of Commerce "is the voice of world business, championing the global economy as a force for economic growth, job creation and prosperity. Because national economies are now so closely interwoven, government decisions have far stronger international repercussions than in the past." This organization "responds by being more assertive in expressing business views." See their website on Globalization and their brief in support of Globalization.
National Labor Committee: "The mission of the National Labor Committee is to help defend the human rights of workers in the global economy. The NLC investigates and exposes human and labor rights abuses committed by U.S. companies producing goods in the developing world." See their Newsroom and, in the right menu, their categories of companies (over 700 articles) and countries (over 400 articles); as an example, see their articles on Costa Rica.
Periodicals:
AlterNet.Org: AlterNet.org is "a project of the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening and
supporting independent and alternative journalism. First launched in 1998, AlterNet's online magazine provides a mix of news, opinion and investigative journalism on subjects ranging from the environment, the drug war, technology and cultural trends to policy debate, sexual politics and health issues. The AlterNet article database includes more than 7,000 stories from over 200 sources." See their Content File Archives for a list of topics, and, in particular, their webpage on Globalization.
BBC News Special Report: Globalization--Good or Bad:
A collection of articles and links to more information about this topic, with commentary on both sides of this issue, and based on articles focused on the World Economic Forum.
Business Week Magazine:
Business Week magazine is one of the primary weekly news sources for the business world. Hard copy issues of the magazine are available in the Foster Business Library's Periodicals
Collection, shelved alphabetically by title; click here for a link to the library's holdings and latest issues of Business Week.
This magazine's site is also very useful though some of the content is for members only. To access Business Week online, for articles back to 1996, go to ProQuest Databases; click on Publications and find Business Week. See their February 3, 2003 issue, with its cover article and many other articles on The New Global Job Shift.
Foreign Affairs:
"Founded in 1921, the Council on Foreign Relations is a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas. Since 1922, the Council has published Foreign Affairs, America's most influential publication on international affairs and foreign policy."
See their essays, articles, and book reviews on the topic of Globalization.
Full text articles in Foreign Affairs are available to UW users via ProQuest Databases.
Washington Post Special Report: Globalization and Its Critics:
A collection of articles and links to more information that is
maintained by the newspaper and kept current with new Post articles.
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
The anti-capitalist dictionary: movements, histories & motivations.
This dictionary is described as "an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements."
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB61 .L66 2006.
See their essay definition of Globalization on pages 108 to 110.
Global, Inc.: an atlas of the multinational corporation.
This large heavily-illustrated, map-rich paperback covers the foundations of globalization, the history of multinational corporations, global corporations by industry, the impacts of multinational corporations on employment and wages, taxes, technology, capital, culture, environment, and standards, and the governance of multinational corporations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .G3 2003.
World economic outlook.
This twice-yearly International Monetary Fund publication "presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects."
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59 .I52 (Twice yearly)
(Also available Online)
See chapter five, on the Globalization of Labor in the April 2007 issue, on pages 161 to 192; this publication is also available online. See also the October 2007 edition, devoted to the topic of globalization and inequality (also available online.)
Business: the ultimate resource.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200 contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
See Redefining What It Means to Manage Globally on pages 27 and 28, and Globalization and Business Strategy, on 97 and 98.
The Blackwell handbook of global management.
This volume, produced by the International Organization Network, consists of 23 essays on management in the global environment, on communication and trust, building community, ethics, leadership and teams, managing knowledge and complexity, and management in developing countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD62.4 .B54 2004.
Encyclopedia of global industries.
Twelve-page descriptions of 125 global industries, with background and
development information, current conditions, industry leaders, and further reading. Most industry descriptions also indicate major countries and companies for that industry.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD2324 .E53 2003.
The regional encyclopedia of business and management.
This four-volume encyclopedia, arranged by region, addresses management in specific countries in regions, with essays
on general regional management topics and specialized themes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1001 .R44 2000, v.1-4
See Perspectives on Globalization, Big Business and the Emerging Countries in volume three, Emerging Countries,
pages 26 to 37.
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
See Globalization in volume two, on pages 1011 to 1020.
The Advertising Age encyclopedia of advertising.
In three volumes, this heavily-illustrated encyclopedia includes profiles of more than 120 ad
agencies worldwide,
essays on 80 leading agencies, detailed articles on 40 U.S. agencies, biographies of 47 major
advertising figures, as well as 160 significant corporate advertisers, brands, and campaigns,
20 essays on market research methods, and 52 essays on advertising tools and operations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5803 .A28 2003.
See Cultural Imperialism in volume one, pages 428 to
430.
Business rankings annual.
This annual volume provides 5,000 rankings of companies, products, services and business activities, with data culled from thousands of sources.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4050 .B88 2004.
See pages 261 to 264 for Corporations, International and page 493 for Location of Industry, International.
LexisNexis corporate affiliations: who
owns whom.
This set of eight volumes covers over fifty thousand U.S. and international companies and their subsidiaries, with a master index in volumes one and two; U.S. public companies in volumes three and four; U.S. private companies in volumes five and six; and international public and private companies in volumes seven and eight.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A219 2005.
Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries.
This three-volume annual publication lists 2,600 U.S. companies with 35,000 branches,
subsidiaries, and affiliates in 190 countries. Volume one lists the firms in alphabetic
order, detailing the countries in which the companies operate; following the companies section are
listings by country, with Albania to Egypt in volume one, El Salvador to Mauritius in volume
two, and Mexico to Zimbabwe in volume three.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .A1 .D5
World investment report.
This paperback, from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, examines the role
of transnational corporations and export competitiveness, of how transnational corporations
make exports from developing nations more competitive, highlighting the strategies used by
these corporations in their international production networks.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .W67 1995, 2002, 2003, 2004.
(Also available Online)
Stocks, bonds, options, futures.
Published by the New York Institute of Finance, this second edition devotes separate chapters to
fixed income securities (including bonds), U.S. treasury bonds, corporate bonds, and municipal
bonds.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4921 .S7945 2001.
See Global Investing in chapter 21, pages 299 to
322, for an essay on the advantages of investing internationally, for American companies.
Global corruption report.
This annual publication, published by Transparency International, usually focuses, each year, on a theme, such as corruption and health in the 2006 issue, with reports on this issue in many countries in part one. Part two consists of country reports from nations with corruption problems, with over forty countries included in the 2006 issue (including the U.S.).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: JF1081 .G56 2006.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Globalization produced a list of over 2,700
records, with over 150 records in the Foster Business Library's collections. With the vagaries of spelling this term, a keyword
search for Globalisation produced over 320
records (including over ten records in the Foster Business Library). As examples of such searches, see:
See also the results for searches for terms often associated with globalization, such as transnational corporations. A search for this term, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced a list of over 75 records. The subject term for transnational corporations is International Business Enterprises; a search for this subject, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced over 1,800 records. As examples of such searches, see:
Subject searches are also a good way to identify relevant books and other materials.
See books on related subjects such as:
Foster Business
Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand
annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are
filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection.
For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
Some companies detail their activities in the area of social and environmental responsibility
in their annual reports--or issue separate annual reports on those topics.
Foster Business
Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For example, a search in this database, in all databases, for
Globalization, produced over
79,000 articles, including over 15,000 articles in scholarly journals, over 5,400 magazine articles, over 15,000 articles in trade publications, and over 30,000 newspaper articles.
A topic search often provides more focus for a search.
Go to the Topic Guide to search for companies, people, and subjects. A subject search for SUB(Globalization) retrieved over 29,000 articles. It is also possible to narrow this subject search through more than twenty
pages of additional terms. Examples of narrowing terms include:
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Studies) (Over 2,200 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(International Trade) (Over 1,700 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Multinational Corporations) (Over 1,500 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Strategic Planning) (Over 1,200 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Trends) (Over 1,100 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Politics) (Over 1,100 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Developing Countries--LDCs) (Over 960 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Culture) (Over 870 articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and SUB(Case Studies) (Over 840 articles)
It's also possible to combine searches for subjects, such as globalization, with company names.
- SUB(Globalization) and CO(Marriott International Inc) (Just six articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and CO(Sony Corp) (Just ten articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and CO(Starbucks Corp) (Just fifteen articles)
- SUB(Globalization) and CO(Wal-Mart Stores Inc) (Over fifty articles)
Examples of articles, from some of the searches, above include:
- "The greatest economic boom ever" (Fortune. New York: Jul 23, 2007. Vol. 156, Iss. 2; pg. 120)
- "I.B.M. Showing That Giants Can Be Nimble"   (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jul 18, 2007. pg. C.1)
- "An iPod Has Global Value. Ask the (Many) Countries That Make It" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jun 28, 2007. pg. C)
- "Technology firm minimizes supplier risk in global sourcing" (Purchasing. Boston: Feb 15, 2007. Vol. 136, Iss. 2; pg. 55)
- "Win-Win? Tell It To the Losers" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jan 27, 2006. pg. C.1)
- "Update on the State of the Future" (The Futurist. Washington: Jan/Feb 2006. Vol. 40, Iss. 1; pg. 20, 5 pgs)
- "Globalization: the tail gets longer" (Adhesives & Sealants Industry. Troy: Jan 2006. Vol. 13, Iss. 1; pg. 36, 5 pgs)
- "When Innovation Becomes Efficiency: Motorola's Global Supply Chain Initiative" (HR. Human Resource Planning. New York: 2006. Vol. 29, Iss. 3; pg. 23, 2 pgs)
- "The global power of IT" (Computer Weekly. Sutton: Apr 5, 2005. pg. 22, 2 pgs)
- "Can Africa join the investment revolution?" (African Business. London: Nov 2005. , Iss. 314; pg. 12, 6 pgs)
- "Global CSR: How the US Government and Business Meet" (Business and the Environment. New York: Nov 2005. Vol. 16, Iss. 11; pg. 1, 4 pgs)
- "The globalization of luxe" (DNR. New York: Oct 24, 2005. Vol. 35, Iss. 43; pg. 13)
- "The Real Reasons You're Working So Hard..." (Business Week. New York: Oct 3, 2005. , Iss. 3953; pg. 60)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail
questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for International Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
6 January 2003; updated
8 May 2008.
Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.