![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See SIC 6221: Commodity Contracts Brokers and Dealers, in the Encyclopedia of American
Industries, for futures and futures trading.
See this database's information and data on futures contracts.
A keyword search for Futures produced over five hundred reports.
An advanced search in this database for Futures, limited to titles and abstracts, in business journals, produced over 640 articles.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See futures markets in the 1980s in volume three, on pages 161 to 163; futures markets in the 1990s in volume three, on pages 271 to 274; abuses in futures markets, in volume two, on pages 102 to 104; the Cotton Futures Act, in volume two, pages 95 and 96; the Federal Trade Commission and futures markets, in volume two, pages 100 and 101; financial futures, in volume three, pages 89 and 90; the Futures Trading Act of 1921, in volume two, pages 101 and 102; the Futures Trading Practices Act of 1992, in volume three, on pages 164 and 197.
See Futures on pages 275 to 291.
See section II, chapters 10 to 13, for Commodity and Managed Futures, on pages 175 to 257.
See Futures Contracts on pages 209 to 231.
This three-volume encyclopedia covers U.S. financial history from 1492 to 2001, with a combination of "broad stroke history and lively anecdote," written single-handed by a law professor at the University of North Carolina.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG181 .M297 2001.
This work includes chapters on treasuries securities, corporate fixed-income securities, municipal securities, and asset-backed securities, with market overviews, conventions, structure, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4521 .L637 2001.
This handbook covers hedge funds, commodity and managed futures, private equity, credit derivatives, and corporate governance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .A57 2002.
This updated work covers all major securities markets, designed for creating optimum investment portfolios.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4921 .S7945 2001.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A subject search for Futures produced over 160 records in the UW Libraries, with over sixty records in the Foster Business Library, including:
Related, narrower subjects (and Foster Business Library holdings) include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
The Foster Business Library periodicals collection includes:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A subject search in this database for
SUB(Futures) produced over 2,200 articles, including over 520 articles in scholarly journals, over 530 magazine articles, over 1,300 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 160 newspaper articles. Similar searches for SUB(Futures Market) produced over 4,200 articles while a search for SUB(Futures Trading) produced over 21,000 articles.
Subject searches can be narrowed by combining them with other subjects, such as:
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
Help:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Finance.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.