About Euromonitor



The Euromonitor Market Research Monitor database was replaced in September 2007 by Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database, an online business information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, comment and business information sources, for more than 200 countries. This guide will soon be replaced by one about this new database.

Euromonitor Market Research Monitor Access:

    Euromonitor Market Research Monitor is a database of global consumer market information, with demographics, trends and developments, market background, market sizes and forecasts, market shares, key players, and company profiles. This database provides over 1,800 reports with market data and detailed company profiles, including market shares, brand information, company strategy and SWOT analyses of the companies, for many countries. For eight major countries (Australia, China, France, Germany, Japan, South Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States), in-depth industry information is also available.

    Euromonitor also publishes important print titles in the Foster Business Library reference collection including European marketing data and statistics, International marketing data and statistics, and World consumer income and expenditure patterns.

    This database is available on all three University of Washington campuses and from off-campus (for current students, faculty, and staff) via the UW Connectivity Kit or the UW Libraries' proxy server.

Using Euromonitor Market Research Monitor:
    This database may be searched in a variety of ways, as indicated in part by the tabs Publication Date, Region/Country, and Market Sector. There is also a link to Latest Statistics, for European, International (which includes the U.S.), and Great Britain.

    Publication Date allows you to browse either Monthly Reports or Major Market Profiles.

    • Monthly Reports are the most recently published market research reports for products and countries; about two dozen such reports are issued monthly. Reports may be selected by year (back to 1999) and by month. Each individual report is in chapters, with an introduction and definitions, market size, sector size, market shares, sector companies in the sector, distribution, and market forecasts. Icons at the top left of the report allow you to view the entire report, create a printer-friendly version of the report, create a PDF version, or open the report in MS Word format.

    • Major Market Profiles are in-depth industry reports for hundreds of industries in Australia, China, France, Germany, Japan, South Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States. You can filter by one of these eight major countries, or by one of 25 industries (not in alphabetical order):   alcoholic drinks, packaging, soft drinks, domestic electrical appliances, metals, pet food and pet care products, tobacco products, paper and textiles, packaged food, energy, household cleaning products, services, consumer electronics, housewares and home furnishings, catering and vending, personal and leisure goods, chemicals, clothing and footwear, banking and finance, retail, automotives, industrial and manufacturing, cosmetics and toiletries, travel and tourism, hot drinks, and telecommunications.

    Region/Country enables searches by country or region. For instance, to search for USA, click on North America and then USA, for over 250 U.S. market studies and company profiles, arranged alphabetically by product name, in several sequences, going back to 1997.

    Market Sectors include over thirty categories including apparel, automotives, banking and finance, catering and vending, chemicals, clothing and footwear, computers and electronics, consumer electronics, demographics and lifestyle, domestic appliances, energy, entertainment and leisure, food and beverages, healthcare, household products, housewares and home furnishings, industrial and manufacturing, luxury goods, metals, over-the-counter healthcare, packaging, paper and textiles, personal and leisure goods, personal care, publishing, publishing and media, retail, services, telecommunications, tobacco, and travel and tourism.

Euromonitor Market Research Monitor Guides:



Connect to Euromonitor

(For authorized University of Washington users with a UW Net ID)



8 September 2003; updated 25 September 2007.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu.