![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See also the list of All Business Databases as well as the list of Business Databases Not Available from Foster.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
As an example, a keyword search for Italy, limited
to the Foster
Business Library,
retrieved a list of eighty records.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
As an example, a search in all databases for Denmark and Consumer Goods produced a list of over fifty articles, including six articles in scholarly journals, two magazine articles, eleven articles trade publications, and twenty newspaper articles.
For most case competitions, librarians may be asked to point you towards materials you specify by name or title. Competition rules typically disallow more specific questions, such as how to find market share information for a particular industry. Instead, you can only ask where to find the print volumes of, for example, Market Share Reporter.
Information about many industries as well as demographic information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 (Annual)
This World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key
data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
For data about personal computers, internet hosts, secure servers, etc., see section 5.10 for Information Age.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656 (Annual)
Also available, in part, online at http://www.worldbank.org/data/wdi/home.html.
This World Economic Forum publication provides country profiles and
data about the diffusion of information technology, along with chapters on network readiness, global diffusion of information technology, information technology and poverty, regulatory reform, and a case study on Finland.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .I55 .G56 2003-2004.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and
practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200
contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best
practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business
dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources. See the World Business
Almanac section, on pages 1368 to 1767, for brief reports on 150 countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This annual United Nations publication, in two volumes, provides international trade
information in considerable detail. Volume one is arranged alphabetically by country, for 179
countries, with data on imports and exports by region and trading partner, as well as by
principal commodities, product categories, economic categories, and industrial origin. Volume
two covers trade by commodity.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF91 .Y4 2004.
Published by the World Economic Forum, this annual paperback ranks over 80 countries for their competitiveness, with essays and individual country profiles. One of the chapters covers wages in twenty-seven countries for five benchmark positions; another chapter includes rankings for computers and for internet hosts as well as for use of the internet, e-commerce, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414 .G563 2006/2007.
This very heavy 2002 yearbook, published by the International Institute for Management
Development
in Switzerland, provides ranking information in many competitiveness categories for 46 major
countries. Among the many categories are international trade, employment, prices,
business legislation, labor markets, management practices, impact of globalization,
corruption.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1414 .W67 (Annual)
Published annually by the International Monetary Fund, this compendium of
statistics for every country provides information on population, GDP,
producer, wholesale and consumer prices, wages, labor force,
unemployment, volume and value of imports and exports, and many other
categories. Statistics cover each year of the past 30 years, where
data is available. The most recent decade of the monthly version of this
yearbook is available in the
Foster Business Library Reference collection, with the call
number HG3881 .I626
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG3881 .I6263 (Annual)
(Also available online)
This annual one-volume source provides information on over 4,000 firms, headquartered in 86 countries, operating nearly 10,000 businesses, wholly or partly owned, in the U.S.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A155 (Annual)
This four-volume annual work provides information on over 4,000 U.S. firms with 63,000 branches in 191 countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4538 .A1 .D5 (Annual)
These 200-page country profiles, for about 24 countries, prepared by PriceWaterhouseCoopers, cover
business
environment, opportunities for foreign investment and trade, investment incentives and
restrictions, the regulatory situation, banking, business entities, labor relations and social security, auditing and accounting practices and tax. New countries are added to this set since it was first published in 1999. An earlier series, Doing Business In, covers another 75 countries, published from 1984 to 1998. Click here
for a list of the titles in both series by country; not all countries are covered.
ProQuest Databases:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.