![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See the industry profile for SIC 7311: Advertising Agencies, in the 2005 Encyclopedia of American Industries.
See the industry overview for Advertising & Marketing as well as the Company List for this industry.
Search under the keyword Advertising (since advertising is not one of the industries in the Industry pulldown menu offering). Over 3,000 reports are offered.
Try searching in the 10K filings for public companies in the U.S. advertising industry such as Omnicom (OMI) and the Interpublic Group of Companies (OPG). Unfortunately, the number of large advertising firms that are both public and American is shrinking so the availability of SEC filings is fewer than in the past.
As an example, a search for the term Advertising produced over 1,400 reports.
A search in this database for SIC code 7311, for the Advertising Industry, retrieved a list of over seventy public companies, worldwide.
A search in this database with Advertising Agencies as Type of Business generated a list of applicable SIC codes. Clicking on SIC code 7311-01 For ADVERTISING-AGENCIES & COUNSELORS and hitting Search retrieved the first page of 24,392 businesses in this category in the U.S. Revising the search to add in Business Size and limiting to businesses with more than $10 million in gross sales generated a list of 883 such businesses in the U.S.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
For more advertising images, see this University of Washington Libraries' site:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
Find information on the Advertising Industry by
searching under LC
Subjects such as:
A keyword search for Advertising produced over 5,200 records in the UW Libraries, including over 750 records in the Foster Business Library's collections.
As examples of Foster Business Library books on advertising, see:
See also the long list of 50
related
subjects to Advertising.
Foster Business Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection. For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
The collection includes annual reports for some advertising companies, included in the Diversified Services industry. Foster Business Library Articles:
The Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection includes subscriptions to the print editions of:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
For example, a search in this database for the
Advertising Industry, produced a list of almost 4,000
articles.
Limiting this search to scholarly articles cut the yield to 160 articles.
A search in the Topic Guide for Advertising produced these subject terms:
Advertising,
Advertising accounts,
Advertising agencies,
Advertising Association--UK,
Advertising campaigns,
Advertising expenditures,
Advertising media,
Advertising pages,
Advertising rates,
Advertising restrictions,
Advertising revenue,
and Advertising Standards Authority--UK.
A search for the term Advertising in this database produced a list of over 850,000 articles. Limiting this search to Advertising and NIKE, for instance, cut the number of articles to 5,200 articles.
As examples of articles from this database, see:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.