The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Wikipedia:
This free online user-created and maintained encyclopedia can be a good starting point for an orientation to a topic. As examples, see their entries for Accountancy and SEC Filings (for a brief explanation of the various filings).
Foster Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
- The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of accounting HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 1.
- Best websites for financial professionals, business appraisers, and accountants HF54.56 .L36 2003.
- Encyclopedic dictionary of accounting and finance
HF1001 .S525 1989.
- Encyclopedia of business ethics and society HF5387 .E53 2008.
- History of accounting: an international encyclopedia HF5605 .H573 1996.
- Digest of state accountancy laws and state board regulations
HF5616 .D51 2002.
- Accountant's almanac HF5616 .U5 .A3 1989.
- The ultimate accountants' reference: including GAAP, IRS & SEC regulations, leases, and more / Steven M. Bragg HF5616 .U5 .B713 2006.
- The FASB: the people, the process and the politics HF5616 .U5 .M524 1998.
- Management of an accounting practice handbook / AICPA HF5616 .U6 .A49 2004.
(Three ring-binder volumes)
- Emerson's big four annual report HF5616 .U5 .P77 2003.
- Who audits America HF5616 .U5 .W5 2002.
- Emerson's directory of leading accounting firms worldwide HF5616 .U6 .E437 1994.
- Emerson's directory of leading U.S. accounting firms HF5616 .U6 .E437 1998-1999.
- Careers in accounting HF5616 .U5 .G39 2006.
- Great jobs for accounting majors HF5616 .U5 .G643 2005.
- Accountants' handbook HF5621 .A22 2003. (Two volumes)
- English-Vietnamese, Vietnamese-English accounting dictionary
HF5621 .A653 1992.
- Concise English-Vietnamese accounting dictionary
HF5621 .C664 1998.
- Accounting: the language of business HF5621 .D28 1977.
- Dictionary of accounting HF5621 .E77 1985.
- The Penguin dictionary of accounting HF5621 .N63 2002.
-
Accounting dictionary: English-Spanish, Spanish-English HF5621 .S26 2003.
- An accounting thesaurus: 500 years of accounting HF5625 .A56 1995.
- Introduction to online accounting & financial research HF5625.7 .I58 2004.
- GAAP handbook of policies and procedures HF5626 .G3 1999.
- Transnational accounting HF5626 .T72 2001. (Three volumes)
- Best resumes for accountants and financial professionals / Kim Marino HF5627 .M33 1994.
- Vault career guide to accounting HF5628 .A433 2005.
- CIFAR's global register of the leading international accounting firms HF5628 .C54 1995.
- Accounting certification, educational, & reciprocity requirements: an international guide HF5630 .F38 1992.
- Encyclopedia of accounting systems HF5635 .E54 1994. (Two volumes)
- Financial accounting / Robert K. Eskew, Daniel L. Jensen HF5635 .E85 1992.
- Introduction to management accounting / Charles T. Horngren, Gary L. Sundem, William O. Stratton HF5635 .H814 1996.
- International handbook of financial reporting / Nexia International
HF5635 .I574 1993.
- Introduction to financial accounting / Robert G. May, Charles L. McDonald, James Jiambalvo HF5635 .M4535 1995.
- Management accounting terminology HF5635 .M235 1983.
- Portfolio of accounting systems for small and medium-sized businesses HF5635 .P86 1992.
- Handbook of model accounting reports and formats HF5635 .V53 1987.
- Author's guide to accounting and financial reporting publications HF5657 .V36 1998-1999.
- Accounting
reference desktop / Steven M. Bragg HF5657.4 .B7195 2002.
(Also available online, in LexisNexis Academic, under Business,
Accounting)
- 101 business ratios: a manager's handbook of definitions, equations, and computer algorithms HF5657.4 .G38 1993.
- Managerial accounting / Cecily A. Raiborn, Jesse T. Barfield, Michael R. Kinney HF5657.4 .R34 1999.
- Understanding auditor-client relationships: a multi-faceted analysis
HF5670 .K55 2001.
- Accountant's resource guide HF5679 .F35 2002. (Pamphlet)
- Analysis of financial statements / Leopold A. Bernstein, John J. Wild HF5681 .B2 .B462 2000.
- Analyzing financial statements / George E. Ruth HF5681 .B2 .C354 1998.
- Analyzing financial statements: skill builder / George E. Ruth
HF5681 .B2 .C3542 1998.
- RMA annual statement studies / Robert Morris Associates HF5681 .B2 R6 (annual)
- How to analyze businesses, financial statements, and the quality of earnings HF5681 .B2 .S4875 1991.
- The Spicer & Oppenheim guide to financial statements around the world HF5681 .B2 .S6332 1989.
- How to read a financial report: wringing cash flow and other vital signs out of the numbers HF5681 .B2 .T733.
- An analysis of issues related to distinguishing between liability and equity instruments HF5681 .L6 .A52 1990. (Pamphlet)
- Industry norms and key business ratios / Dun & Bradstreet HF5681 .R25 .I525 (annual)
- IRS corporate financial ratios HF5681 .R25 .I78 1989.
- Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios / by Leo Troy
HF5681 .R25 .T68 (annual)
- Business analysis & valuation: using financial statements: text & cases HF5681 .V3 .P3 2000.
- A CPA's guide to accounting, auditing, and tax for construction contractors HF5686 .B7 .R35 2002.
- Wiley not-for-profit GAAP HF5686 .N56 .W55
2005. (Also available online, in LexisNexis Academic, under Business,
Accounting)
- Handbook of SEC accounting and disclosure HF5686 .C7 .H336 1999.
- Financial management for hospitality decision makers
HF5686 .H75 .G85 2002.
- International finance and accounting handbook / edited by Frederick D.S. Choi HF5686 .I56 .H36 2003.
- Understanding and using financial data: an Ernst & Young guide for attorneys HF5686 .L35 .U53 1996.
- Business ratios and formulas: a comprehensive guide
HF5691 .B73 2002.
- Financial mathematics handbook / Robert Muksian
HF5691 .M84 1984.
- The Economist numbers guide: the essentials of business numeracy
HF5695 .S83 1998.
- Basic tables in business and economics HF5699 .C892 1967.
- Accountant's handbook of formulas and tables HF5699 .L56 1988.
- Economist desk companion: how to measure, convert, calculate, and define practically anything HF5712 .E27 1998.
- The handbook of bank accounting: understanding and applying standards and regulations HG1707 .W64 1993.
- Budgetary, accounting and financial vocabulary [French—English] HJ796 .V62 1987.
- Governmental accounting, auditing, and financial reporting HJ9773 .G68 1988.
- A financial history of modern U.S. corporate scandals: from Enron to reform HV6769 .M37 2006.
- Top accounting issues for 2005 CPE course KF1428 .Z9 .T67 2005.
- Thesaurus of accounting and auditing terminology Z695.1 .A18 .T46 1974.
- Accountants' index master list of subject headings Z7164 .C81 .A52 1988.
- Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in accounting, economics, and finance Z7164 .C81 .C322 2004-2005.
- Accounting: information sources Z7164 .C81 .D28 1970.
- Financial journals and serials: an analytical guide to accounting, banking, finance, insurance, and investment periodicals Z7164 .F5 .F53 1986.
Foster Business
Library Reference Accounting Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection is located adjacent to the Reference Collection. Unlike the Reference Collection, which is arranged by call number, the Reference Accounting Collection is arranged largely by issuing body; within those bodies, material is arranged alphabetically by series title. Color coding also helps accounting students navigate this collection, using the guides at the end of each shelving range. This arrangement is designed to facilitate self service access to reference accounting materials since many items in the collection are too narrow to permit easy identification of call numbers--and call numbers would scatter materials that logically belong together.
The Reference Accounting collection occupies two shelving ranges. One
range and half of another is devoted to AICPA publications, including
historical publications, exposure drafts, statements and standards, audit
and accounting guides (in four volumes), audit risk alerts, audit guides,
checklists, and committee publications. The remaining half range includes
FASB, GASB, CICA, IASC, ICA and miscellaneous publications (the latter
arranged alphabetically by call number):
While this arrangement might seem daunting, it actually works very well
for accounting students, accustomed as they are to searching for materials
by issuing body. For an orientation to the arrangement of this collection, see the Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection Arrangement. For a detailed list of materials in this collection, see the research guide for the Foster Business Library Reference Accounting Collection.
Another source for locating where materials are in this
collection is the UW
Libraries Catalog. Here is an example, an AICPA publication:
Fraud
detection in a GAAS audit: SAS no. 99 implementation guide. Materials
in the Foster Reference Accounting collection include shelving notes to
make it easier for you to find where materials are shelved. In the case
of this title, the record says: Shelved: AICPA Committee Series
- AICPA. Practice Aid Series.
Foster Business
Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the word Accounting, limited to materials in the Foster Business
Library, retrieved over 2,900 titles. A subject search for the same term, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced over 2000 titles.
Foster titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
The Foster Periodicals Collection is located at the west end of the main floor, arranged alphabetically
by title, from A to the right (north) to Z to the left (south); for a list of the titles in this
collection, click here.
-
Abacus: a journal of accounting and business studies,
v.1- (1965-)
-
Accountancy, v.70-v.116 no.1227 (1959-Nov. 1995); v.125 no.1280- (Apr.
2000-)
Continued by and shelved with Accountancy
international.
- Accountancy
international, v.121 no.1258-v.125 no.1279 (June 1998-Mar. 2000) Continued by
and shelved with
Accountancy.
- Accountant,
v.142-194,
no.5793-5928 (1960 - 1997)
- Accountants' journal,
v.
38-71
(1959-1982)
- Accountant's
magazine,
v.68-97 no.1042 (1964 - May 1993). Continued by
CA (Edinburgh).
- Accounting and business
research, v. 1- (1970-)
- Accounting
historian, v. 1-3, no. 4. (1974 - fall 1976) Continued by the Accounting historians
journal.
- Accounting historians
journal, v.4- (spring 1977-)
- Accounting horizons, v.1-
(1987-)
-
Accounting, organizations and society, v.1- (June 1976-)
- Accounting review, v.1-
(1926-)
- Auditing: a journal of practice
and
theory, v.1-
(summer 1981-)
- Australian
accountant, v.44-68 (1974-March 1998) Incomplete. Continued by Australian CPA
- Australian CPA, v.68 no.4-
(May 1998-)
- British accounting
review, v.19- (1987-)
- Charter (Sydney,
Australia), v.61-71 no.1
(1990-Feb. 2000)
- Chartered accountant in
Australia,
v.36-59 (1965-1988) Continued by
Charter (Sydney,
Australia).
- Chartered
accountant,
v.60 no.1-11
(1989)
Continued by Charter
(Sydney,
Australia)
- Computers in
accounting, v.4-9 no.1 (1988-Jan. 1993) Incomplete v.8. Continued by Accounting
technology.
- Contemporary accounting
research, v. 1-
(fall 1984-)
- Government accountants
journal,
v.25-49
no.2 (spring 1976-summer 2000) Continued by Journal of government
financial management.
- Internal auditing,
v.12
no.4-
(spring 1997-)
- Internal auditor, v.47-
(1990-)
- International
accounting
bulletin,
no.1-166 (1983-1994)
- International journal
of
accounting, v.24-36 (1989-2001) Continued by International journal of
accounting education and research.
- International journal
of
accounting
education and research, v.1-23 (1965-1988)
- Issues in accounting
education,
1983-1985; v.1- (spring 1986-)
- Journal of accountancy, v.1-
(1905-) Incomplete v.85.
- Journal of accounting
and economics,
v.1- (1979-)
- Journal of accounting
and
public policy,
v.1- (fall 1982-)
- Journal of accounting,
auditing and
finance, v.1 no.4-v.8 (sum. 1978-1984); n.s. v.1- (win. 1986-)
- Journal of accounting
education, v.2-19
(1984-2001)
- Journal of accounting
literature, v.1-
(1982-)
- Journal of accounting
research,
v.1-
(spring 1963-) Includes Supplement, v.12- (1974-)
- Journal of business finance and
accounting : JBFA, v.1- (spring 1974-)
- Journal of management
accounting research, v.1- (1989-)
- Management
accounting
(U.S.), v.50-80 no.8 (Sept. 1968-Feb. 1999) Changed title to Stategic
finance.
- Management
accounting (U.K.), v.43 no.1-v.78
no.7 (Jan. 1965-July/Aug. 2000) Incomplete.
- National public
accountant, v.42 no.5- (July 1997-)
- Public accounting
report, Jan.
1983-Dec.1993 (Incomplete); 1994-
- Taxation for
accountants, v.6 no.6-v.11,
v.13-61 no.4 (1971-Oct.1998) Continued by Practical tax
strategies.
The UW Libraries subscribes to a very long list of electronic journals; for a list of electronic
journals in the fields of business and economics, click here; for a list of
electronic journals by nearly 100 subjects, click here.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
This database includes citations for and, in many cases, full text, for over sixty periodicals
with the word Account* in
the title and nine periodicals with the word Audit* in the title. Go to Publication
Search to view these titles.
Accounting problems at major corporations can also be researched by searching by company name and the word accounting.
As examples of articles, see:
- "Inquiry Assails Accounting Firm In Lender's Fall" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Mar 27, 2008. pg. A.1) (Full text of report)
- "Research on Accounting Should Learn From the Past" (Chronicle of Higher Education, March 21, 2008)
- "The Move Towards Convergence of Accounting Standards World Wide" (Journal of American Academy of Business, Cambridge. Hollywood: Sep 2007. Vol. 12, Iss. 1; pg. 57, 6 pgs)
- "A Tower Of Babel In Accounting?" (New York Times. (Late Edition (East Coast)). New York, N.Y.: Jun 15, 2007. pg. C.1)
- "Are we failing the exam?" (Pennsylvania CPA Journal. Philadelphia: Summer 2006. Vol. 77, Iss. 2; pg. 24, 4 pgs)
- "Fannie Mae Ex-Officials May Face Legal Action Over Accounting" (Wall Street Journal. (Eastern edition). New York, N.Y.: May 24, 2006. pg. A.1)
- "SEC to look at Zale accounting" (National Jeweler. New York: May 16, 2006. Vol. 100, Iss. 10; pg. 1, 2 pgs)
- "Website of the Month: AccountingStudents" (The CPA Journal. New York: May 2006. Vol. 76, Iss. 5; pg. 70, 1 pgs)
- "A Voice Crying in the Wilderness for Auditor Independence" ( Journal of American Academy of Business, Cambridge. Hollywood: Mar 2006. Vol. 8, Iss. 2; pg. 190, 6 pgs)
- "Four Years Later, Enron's Shadow Lingers as Change Comes Slowly" (New York Times, Jan 5, 2005. pg. C.1)
- "S.E.C. Agrees on Set of Principles For Fining Companies for Fraud" (New York Times, Jan 5, 2005. pg. C.1)
- "Dot-con job: how InfoSpace took its investors for a ride " (Seattle Times, Mar 6, 2005. pg. A.1)
(See also the Seattle Times special report Dot-Con Job, for all the articles in this multi-part series)
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
nearly all of the hours that the
library is open.
The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the
fullest or
advise on research strategies.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Taxation and Accounting.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
Last modified: Monday June 09, 2008 (murata)