Foster Business Library


Foster Business Library, A to Z



A  >>>  B  >>>  C  >>>  D  >>>  E  >>>  F  >>>  G  >>>  J  >>>  L  >>>  M  >>>  N  >>>  O  >>>  P  >>>  R  >>>  S  >>>  T  >>>  V  >>>  W  >>>  Z

A  -   A   -   A  -   A:

  • Annual reports:   See the Foster Business Library Corporate Annual Reports collection, with annual reports for over 800 companies, both foreign and domestic. The collection is located in twelve lateral files, under the sign Corporate Annual Reports, between the library's circulation and reference desks.

  • Articles:   For access to millions of full text articles, try one of the full text article databases here.

  • Atlases:   There are several atlases in the dictionary stand near the reference desk on the library's first floor.

B  -   B  -   B  -   B:

C  -   C  -   C  -  C:

  • Class websites:   To see the long list of class websites, go to Class Assignments and Web Sites on the Foster Business Library homepage.

  • Coffee:   Available nearby at the Balmer Cafe or, a little farther away, the Burke Cafe. If you bring coffee into the library, be sure to do so only if the coffee is in a nonspillable container.

  • Company information:   See the databases in the Foster Business Library Database Index for Company Information.

  • Computers:   The Foster Business Library provides over fifty computer workstations for library research in its electronic reference area and in its adjoining library lab. Public computers do not offer word processing and spreadsheet but do include Word and Excel viewers so that documents can be printed. The library's more than forty Access+ computers offer Microsoft Office applications to authorized UW users with a UWNetID. Word processing and spreadsheet are also available in the Balmer Hall Computer Labs.

  • Copiers:   The Foster Business Library has two self-service photocopiers and one copy card machine. The copy card dispenser and two photocopiers are located in an alcove near the stairs to the library's second floor, across from the library elevator.

  • Country information:   See the databases in the Foster Business Library Database Index for Country Information.

  • Course reserves:   See Course Reserves on the Foster Business Library homepage, under Library Services, in the top tool bar.

D  -   D  -   D  -   D:

E  -   E  -   E  -   E:

F  -   F  -   F  -   F:

  • Fax:   The public fax facilities nearest to the Foster Business Library are down in the Communications Building basement, in room B-045. This location handles telex, mailgrams, international cables and facsimiles.

  • Floor plans:   There are floor plans available, in Adobe Acrobat PDF format, for the first floor and second floor of the Foster Business Library.

  • Food and drink:   The Foster Business Library adheres to the UW Libraries' Food, Drink, and Tobacco Policy which prohibits eating in all public spaces in the University of Washington Libraries. Beverages are allowed only in covered, spill-proof, reusable containers, except in the following units that prohibit all food and drink. Food and drink may be consumed outside the Foster Business Library entrance where a bench is provided and of course in the Balmer Cafe, Undergraduate Commons, and MBA Lounge in Balmer Hall.

  • Frequently asked questions:   See the Foster Business Library Business & Economics FAQ, with over 600 questions and answers.
G  -   G  -   G  -   G:

H  -   H  -   H  -   H:

J  -   J  -   J  -   J:

L  -   L  -   L  -   L:

  • Laptop ports:   Most seating in the library has power and data connections as well as laptop ports. Four wireless hubs were also installed in late summer 2002 for internet connectivity.

  • Librarians:   The Foster Business Library includes four librarians with a combined total of over fifty years of experience in business libraries. Their offices are located along the north wall of the library's first floor.

  • Library lab:   The Foster Business Library offers an 18-terminal library lab for library research. This room is located on the first floor of the library, along the west wall.

  • Lockers:   The Foster Business Library does not have any lockers for rent. The nearest lockers for rent are in Balmer Hall, operated by the student-run Undergraduate Management Consulting Association. See their Balmer Hall Lockers website for information about renting lockers.

  • Lost and found:   Lost and found items in the Foster Business Library are turned in at the library's circulation desk. Every two weeks, lost items are forwarded to the HUB Information Desk at the Husky Student Union building.
N  -   N  -   N  -   N:

O  -   O  -   O  -   O:

  • Online catalog:   The UW Libraries Catalog can be found in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Use the Modify or Limit buttons to limit your search to the Foster Business Library's collections. There is also, near the Foster Business Library circulation desk, a terminal devoted to the UW Libraries Catalog.

P  -   P  -   P  -   P:

  • Paper cutter:   There is a public paper cutter in the photocopier alcove near the elevator on the first floor of the library.

  • Paper punch:   There is a public three-hole paper punch in the photocopier alcove near the elevator on the first floor of the library.

  • Pens and pencils:   Forgot your pen or pencil? The Foster Business Library can offer you a loaner, culled from the many pens and pencils left in the library almost every day.

  • Printing:   Self-service printing is available in the Foster Business Library on two printers. Payment is only by copy cards, available from a dispenser near the library's two self-service photocopiers.

  • Purchase requests:   To suggest the addition of a book to the Foster Business Library collection, complete the online Purchase Request Form.

R  -   R  -   R  -   R:

  • Reference desk:   The Foster Business Library reference desk is located in the center of the library's first floor, under a sign that says Reference. During most of the hours that the library is open, this desk is staffed by one of the library's four librarians or by a trained graduate reference assistant currently enrolled in the Information School on campus. If no one is at the desk, consult one of the four librarian offices along the north wall of the library's first floor. The direct line to the reference desk is (206) 543-8012. Questions may also be submitted electronically to balib@u.washington.edu.

  • Research guides:   See Business Research Guides on the Foster Business Library homepage; for a free printed copy of one of these guides, just ask at the library's reference desk.

  • Reserves:   See Course Reserves on the Foster Business Library homepage.

  • Restrooms:   Restrooms are located in the hallway outside the Foster Business Library entrance.
S  -   S  -   S  -   S:

T  -   T  -   T  -   T:

V  -   V  -   V  -   V:

W  -   W  -   W  -   W:

Z  -   Z  -   Z  -   Z:
  • Zip drives:   None of the Foster Business Library public computers have zip drives but all of the Access+ computers (the computers that require a UW Net ID to access), in the Foster Business Library, have zip drives.


25 June 2003; updated 18 December 2006.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu   Phone:   206-543-4360.